Taking a break to swim the rapids of the Aare river in Switzerland

I’ve never swum in rapids before. A life jacket was a must and the water was chilly, only 16’c but it was a lot of fun. I know it is hard to see but that is me in the middle of the river with my guide. Never attempt to do this sort of thing alone. But the sensation of going up and down with the waves as we were pulled along at quite a speed was a good experience. Is strange when you can feel the current trying to pull you under, then you really have to swim. We were in the river for about 15mins, it felt good to warm up after by laying on a rock in the sun 🙂

Swimming the rapids of the Aare river in Switzerland

 

5 thoughts on “Taking a break to swim the rapids of the Aare river in Switzerland

    • It was a wee bit cold. 15 minutes in the river was enough. After 5 minutes I had to lay back with my hands in the air facing the sun to get some heat into my blood. Now I know what to expect, I really look forward to the next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

